FYI – Oldest Baltimore Restaurants STILL in Business?

A visit to the Owl Bar downtown which raised my consciousness of it opening for business over 110 years ago got me wondering (and researching and asking friends) about other restaurants that had been around for a very long time and were still in business. I compiled list of these and settled on an arbitrary threshold objective of identifying Baltimore-area restaurants that had opened 50+ years ago (and that I’d be willing to eat at myself!)

So far, my research has turned up about a dozen and a half qualifying restaurants.

#1 - The Owl Bar opened in 1903

#1 – The Owl Bar opened in 1903

Squires_ext

#2 – Squires opened in 1920

#3 - Chiapparelli's open in 1940

#3 – Chiapparelli’s open in 1940

You can check out the full “Guide” listing of all these “Oldest Baltimore Restaurants Still in Business” at:

http://www.urbanspoon.com/guides/14651-oldest-baltimore-restaurants-still-in-business

I’m curious!   Has anyone reading this eaten at ALL of these places?  <Wink>

AND – If you know of any that I’ve missed that ought to be included, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “FYI – Oldest Baltimore Restaurants STILL in Business?

Leave a comment